Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Woodies

We have a close view of the bordered here at my sister's house and she reckons there are three families of Greater Spotted Woodpeckers using them. This one was 'encouraging' a fellow youngster to let him have a turn. We used to see them a lot back in Surrey, less in Shropshire and extremely rarely (once!) in Orkney so it was great to catch these thriving. There's a good view of Dartmoor behind, too!  Windy today at the top of this hill. 

Berry has been remarkably reasonably behaved today given that she was thrust into the company of four other dogs (my sister's two labs and my niece's lab and elderly springer). A big relief. She's still to really play properly but at least she held her own. 

Sadly, my niece had to have her other elderly dog, a black lab, put down this morning. It was strongly suspected that she had cancer and she was suddenly so unwell that there was really no choice. It's been a tough day for my niece and her family especially as Maisie the dog pre-dates the children and was the first special seal on my niece and her husband's relationship. 

It's just been a day pottering around, getting washing done and largely dried,  a good walk with the dogs and a little rose pruning (there's a beast of a rambler here that my sister just hasn't had time to deal with).

Lovely :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.