cyclops

By cyclops

Union Canal

After a quiet morning, I went for a nice cycle this afternoon.

I took the bike on the car to near Haymarket, then cycled to the station to get the train to Camelon.  I've never taken my bike on a train before, but it really is very straightforward - there is space for a couple of bikes and mine was the only one there.

From Camelon I cycled up to the Falkirk Wheel (see Extras) then up to the start of the Union Canal (also in Extras).  This is a Contour Canal, meaning it's completely flat.  Ideal for cycling.  

I started from that end for two reasons...

1) If I got the train at the start I didn't have to worry about being able to get back if the bike section of the train was full.
2) There was a very strong wind from the West - which was behind me this way.

I cycled the Canal all the way to Fountainbridge in Edinburgh - which is nearly 33 miles.  It's in peaceful countryside nearly all the way - even in Edinburgh you'd never know you were in a bustling city as the canal has it's own green corridor through the urban environment.  Highlights include the Falkirk Tunnel (see Extras) which has cascades of water through the roof in places, viaducts over rivers with spectacular views, and various historic canal basins once used to load and unload cargo.

The canal ends at Fountainbridge in Edinburgh where I took this photo - an Extra shows the end point.

About 30 seconds after taking this the wind increased dramatically and heavy rain hit.  I got soaked on the way back to the car.

To add insult to injury I was bitten twice on the ride by enormous horseflies or clegs (not sure which).  The first bit me on the leg and was very painful and surprising - I nearly fell off trying to get it off me.  The second was worse.  It bit me on the upper lip.  You can't see much in this photo, but it still felt painful and swollen an hour later.  Little b*******s.

I really enjoyed the ride though, and having now discovered how easy it is to get a bike on the train it's something I'd definitely do again...  

Canal Section: 52.73 km / 32.75 miles along canal
Total Trip: 58.8km / 36.56 miles 

I'm pleased with that (although a little embarrassed that is so - my good friend recently cycled 200 miles over 2 days!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.