Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Jarvis Cocker and Kelham Island

I did something a bit different yesterday and went on an organised street walk that was focused on Street Art.  We gathered by the entrance to the Kelham Island museum before setting off on a 2 hour walk around the area.  Kelham Island is just across from where our office was when I worked with The Geographical Association and many of the names were familiar - like the Fat Cat, but I'd never been there.  So I decided to join this walking tour.  In many ways I was as interested to see the buildings in the area as I was to see the street art and this seemed like a good way to gain a sense of place.  I'm not sure I'll do anything much with the photos I took yesterday but I might go back with a different project in mind.

One thing that did grab my attention was the panel on the end of the Fat Cat showing the level that the flood water rose in two major floods - 1864 the Great Sheffield Flood and 2007 the last major flood when Ann was actually working with a class of children in the Kelham Island Museum - the police arrived and told them to vacate the premises then and there as the flood water was rising (the museum is next to the River Don).

My sister and Linda came on their bikes and we had some lunch in the museum cafe, which was good and a lovely way to finish off the excursion.  I was pretty shattered when I got home and spent an hour trying to sort out a Lightroom problem.  This morning my memory was restored and I knew I needed to close it down and start it again - the images appeared like magic!  (I do know that is a problem sometimes but my brain didn't kick in last night.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.