Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

MEET ANDY - OUR NEW BEST FRIEND!

There comes a time when you just have to admit defeat for doing certain jobs and cleaning our windows is one of those times.  I had to go and see my doctor again this morning to see how I was getting on being on the Gabapentine.  This is a nerve blocker,  which in effect, should alleviate the pain in my legs, but this morning it was very bad - whether from walking yesterday or not drinking enough yesterday, I’m not sure, but it made me wince quite a lot.  For anyone reading this, I’m not asking for sympathy but just stating the facts.

My GP, who is lovely, said that she would “up” the medication to see if that would help and we also had a good chat about what was happening in my life etc - she is such a good listener and very supportive.  During our conversation, I told her I wasn’t depressed and she said she could see that but suggested that I speak to a couple of friends to ask them to tell me if I was different and not responding in the usual way, because she said that is often how anxiety starts and trusted friends can often detect that.

When we got home, Andy’s Sunshine Window Cleaning van was parked outside a neighbour’s and it was a squeeze to get in, but that was fine.  Andy was cleaning their windows, so Mr. HCB asked the price and it was reasonable considering all the windows we have, especially with a large conservatory, so a deal was done and when he had finished next door, he came and did ours, and a wonderful job he did too.  I did ask Andy if he did the insides too, but he said he didn't but was asked that a lot!  I was a bit miffed that just as he was leaving, we had a rainstorm.  Andy will be coming round every three months, which will suit us fine.

He now has three of the houses in our cul de sac and our neighbours the other side, Mike and Lynn are thinking of getting him to clean their windows too so a personal recommendation from us worked.

Whilst doing my Blip, Lynn came round and said “I’m not boasting, but now I have cut my first cauliflower...”- which incidentally was one of the plants Mr. HCB gave her that he had grown from seed - “Do you want the outside leaves for a stirfry?”  I had to take a photograph and you can see her in the extra collage.  Once she had cut the leaves off, she stood with the cauliflower and looked like a “blushing bride” so of course, I had to take another shot and she persuaded Mr. HCB to be in it with her as the bridegroom.  He wasn't keen, but probably because his cauliflowers aren’t a patch on Lynn’s! Oh dear, I do hope he won't sulk all evening!!

We are so blessed with our lovely neighbours;  this morning Mike cut 3 inches off each leg of my conservatory chair because it was much too high for me - and he is going to put grab rails in the shower when they arrive from Amazon.  I don’t know how we would manage without them!

I did some commenting yesterday, but please excuse me if I don’t comment much - but I am finding it quite difficult at the moment - I often go to sleep in the evenings and I do feel guilty, but hope you will forgive me - I will try and sprinkle hearts and stars though.  

I thought I would change from quotes and finish with a pun for a few days - the definition being: “The pun is a form of word play that suggests two or more meanings, by exploiting multiple meanings of words, or of similar-sounding words.”  Here are two to make you roll your eyes:

I tried to catch some fog - I mist!

     When chemists die, they barium.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.