PeteWpics

By PeteWpics

Hanging in there

Hopefully so. She's got 4 eggs under her. 
Yesterday on my way out I passed her nest and found a fisherman and his wife had set out a picnic on the bottom of the bank no more than 6 feet from it. He also had 3 rods set out with their lines travelling over the nest. Not being the confrontational type I just mentioned in passing conversation that the nest was there and that the grebe had been sitting on the eggs for a couple of weeks. I also said that I wondered where the grebe was. They pointed to a grebe about 30 yards away in the water and said they'd seen her get off the eggs when they had arrived. 
I just hoped the conversation would stir them into taking their rods and picnic a bit further upriver where there were plenty of other good fishing spots. However returning that way later in the afternoon I saw they hadn't budged and the grebe hadn't returned. 
I went down as soon as I could today and was glad to see mother grebe had returned to her eggs. I just hope that she hadn't been off the eggs too long. These poor birds are struggling enough to raise broods on this stretch at the moment so a little awareness and concern wouldn't go amiss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.