Hyperion

By Hyperion

Gratitude

Sophie Howarth writing in her book The Mindful Photographer, says "Gratitude is both the start and end point of any mindfulness practice, as well as the place to return to any time we feel we are drifting. It's a deeply radical mindset that can completely change the way we look at the world". 
I have thought about this idea a lot and tried to incorporate it into how I view and interact with my own surroundings. When we slow down to observe and feel a sense of gratitude for the world around, we begin to notice more. 
Twenty minutes walk from home today I noticed the converging geometry in this semi-urban scene, and took a single image with my camera picture control set to monochrome. I'm grateful that I discovered something in the ordinary that I valued enough to create an image!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.