Livresse

By Livresse

Fight

The main event of the day was that I got bitten by a dog...not badly, nor intentionally, but I have a nasty bruise. Walking Django, I spotted a big Doberman and his owner coming towards us. Django tensed up so I put him on a lead. This usually a signal to the other dog owner that they should do the same or make sure that their dog doesn't approach mine. The woman didn't put her dog on a lead. I kept well out of their way, expecting the dog to be disciplined, but he came straight for Django...and a fight ensued. The woman struggled to get hold of her dog and I got bitten trying to get between them. I was really angry with both the woman for not controlling her dog and with Django, though to be fair, he was probably protecting me.

The rest of the day was spent sorting, photos, writing my diary and reading. When I was in Portland, I asked Kendall to recommend a some American poetry. I came home with two books (amongst others), this one as my main blip and Delights and Shadows by Ted Kooser. I have chosen this one as my book for LBB6. I really enjoyed discovering these poems. Powerful, full of grief and love and pride for her people and her heritage. I found the poetry immersive, almost hypnotic as if she was speaking directly to your heart..  I will be seeking more of this poet. 

One of my favourites, of the shorter poems.

Granddaughters

I was a thought, a dream, a fish, a wing 
And then a human being 
When I emerged from my mother's river 
On my father's boat of potent fever 
I carried a sack of dreams from a starlit dwelling 
To be opened when I begin bleeding 
There's a red dress, deerskin moccasins 
The taste of berries made of promises 
While the memories shift in their skins 
At every moon, to do their ripening

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.