Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Somewhere ...

You can supply the rest of the song; wherever people were doing stuff and enjoying themselves it must've been somewhere over this rainbow, as it sure wasn't chez moi!

Another day of deceptive, alluring, warm-seeming sunny periods and sudden battering showers which I watched, indifferent, from inside the house (except when I suddenly saw a white trumpet on a tiny red fuchsia and just had to go out to look). I woke with a horribly fruity cough this morning, and it's stayed with me all day, shifting slightly up to make my throat feel rough and beastly. I tested again for Covid, just to be sure - still totally clear, so just everyday horridness. (Can you tell I'm truly fed up?)

I watched the bin lorry pass along the crescent, emptying our bins where we leave them outside the front gate of our neighbour who has access from the back lane (we don't). One of these dreadful downpours came on as a man in yellow waterproofs was manoeuvring our bin onto the forks of the lorry, and he couldn't put his hood up till he was finished, and I thought of the disagreeable jobs people do so that we don't live in foetid squalor. His head was completely shaved ...

Other than that I made two loaves, one after the other in the machine. I must try to get them out of step next time. And I sorted out some recipes, several of which were in French but perfectly understandable. I looked at holiday brochures (we keep getting them in the post) and was tempted by none of them. I read yesterday's paper in detail, including all the stuff about the mystery of the Wagner group and Prighozin (spelling?) and the hopeless mess of the banlieus in French cities. 

One of my (dental) crowns began to creak disagreeably. 

I still don't know if I shall be able to go and sing tomorrow. I certainly don't feel like it tonight, but tomorrow is another day. 

I think I'll post that little fancy fuchsia as an extra. The whole plant is only about 5" tall and dwarfed by the nasturtium - I thought it was a goner. 

Nil desperandum ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.