CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

BUCK MOON RISING

My poor camera struggled even on the "Moon" setting, and it was handheld as usual, but I was determined to catch the Buck Moon rising over the Cleveland Hills. It occurred to me as I went to bed that I won't have this view from my bedroom window in the new house we're buying or indeed any distant view. I may have to get a skylight made in the loft and have a mini-observatory.

We've been getting posts from my baby sister A2 whose latest adventure is working as a chef at a fishing lodge in the Alaskan wilds. She's been there less than three weeks and already has had to contend with endless swarms of giant mosquitos, bears roaming through the camp, weekly earthquakes including a 4.6 this morning which burst the doors open, and flying to Anchorage in a 1947 plane to do the grocery shopping, as well as the oven breaking down in the first week and having to get parts flown in to fix it. However, she does have a wonderful view of Denali (ex Mt. McKinley) from her cabin window. She definitely got the share of intrepidness that I never had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.