On Some Days

By V1k1

This Is My Country . . . Randy Newman

Some outsiders can be harsh about America but today I saw a little community put on their 4th of July parade and it made me happy.  Homer has 5000 people and the parade took fifty minutes to pass us.  All sorts of community groups were taking part.  I talked to several people today and they were all charming.  A group on Indian Motorbikes had ridden here and we chatted at the gas station.  A couple from Tucson drove here in their camper to escape the heat and will drive home next month.  A woman is here to go Halibut fishing and hopes the weather improves.  So do I as it was 7c this morning.  The two ladies in the information centre  had so many suggestions.  They told us where to get a good sandwich for lunch, where to watch the parade from where we could hear the commentary, and for me where the gallery of local artists was.  It was an exceptional gallery.  I have another pair of earrings from a local jeweler.
The extra is of another Russian Church at Ninilchik.  This one had the graveyard beside it.  Hopefully  tomorrow's weather will let me take pictures of the impressive mountains that I am looking at from the camper.  It has been a bleak temperature this evening but a family along from us were sitting around a fire ring and eating together to celebrate the 4th.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.