Edisteve

By edisteve

Happy birthday

Today, 75 years ago, the NHS came into being, and despite it’s current challenges, it is something that we in the UK should be immensely proud of in my opinion. Free healthcare for all cradle to grave, what’s not to be proud of.

Over the years, the NHS has been there for my family, friends and loved ones continuously and for that I am ever thankful.

Funnily enough, I was at our GP practice this afternoon seeing the doc about a few bits and pieces (nothing serious) and the way I was treated from when I called this morning, to having the appointment was brilliant, being friendly as well as professional.

An interesting aside, is that when the NHS was set up the population of the UK was under 50 million people, now it’s nearly 68 million people,  and the average life expectancy was 68 in 1948, whereas it is now just under 82 years old. 

There’s a lot to think about and be grateful for. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.