Munni

By Munni

Long Way Home

This morning, I took a last photo out of my hotel room - the main blip - before walking to the train station.

The first part of the journey home was still beautiful. Both extras are taken from the train on the first leg of the trip; the old road bridge over the Albula gorge at Solis (the 90 m deep gorge didn’t fit into the frame), and the birthplace of the river Rhine (the confluence of the two rivers Vorderrhein and Hinterrhein) at Reichenau.

In Chur, I had hoped to board a (German) train to Frankfurt. But well before we got there, the Deutsche Bahn app informed me that this train was cancelled “due to repairs”. And the train I had planned to connect to in Frankfurt was cancelled as well, because of “track repairs”. 
The Swiss Railway then provided transportation from Chur to Basel, so I got there in time - although without seat reservations or a restaurant coach. 

From Basel, I took the next train to Frankfurt, which was only slightly delayed, but very crowded. And in Frankfurt I found a local train home, which ran on exactly the same track as the earlier one that was cancelled for track repairs  - only, I couldn’t spot any repairs, workers or building machines on the way. 
Curious…

Anyway, I am home now, after another rather stressful 10-hour journey. P surprised me by meeting me at the station, and cooking dinner. It was a wonderful holiday, but it’s still good to be home again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.