MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Sweet pea

Haven't taken many photos today and the ones I did take haven't turned out so good. This is the best of a few bad ones!
Went to mum's this morning and we had a good natter. Got home and realised I'd left my phone so had to go back for it after lunch!
Pottered about a little in the garden this afternoon but otherwise, not much done. 
Caches are all sorted for tomorrow ie route planned, meeting place organised, printout done and caches sent to GPSr. Skem here we come.
Happy 75th Birthday to the NHS which I worked for over many years. Our local hospital has been on the news today (Whiston Hospital). I worked for Whiston and St Helens hospitals from 2002 up to my semi-retirement in 2011 then on the Nurse Bank to my full retirement in 2015. It has needed reform for a long time. Money won't fix it without change. I am proud of our NHS but the way hospitals are run needs to be rethought. At a time when they were complaining of lack of staff and knowing many were due to retire soon, they built a new hospital which is fabulous but has wards with a totally different layout to the old Nightingale Wards. The new types need many more staff due to small bays and single rooms! Try looking after confused, frail patients on one of these wards. Nightmare! Anyway, I am in danger of a rant here so I'll end with saying here's to many more years of our NHS. Our local hospital trust is fantastic and award-winning so I am really proud to have worked in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.