A day in the life

By Shelling

Tourist

For the first time in weeks, I was in Kalmar to do some errands and to see the summer exhibition at the castle about Monet and his friends "the impressionists". I's a multimedia exhibition with details, full paintings, quotes, music and normal filming  of many of the artists work from the time around 1900. Manet, Monet, Renoir, Pizzaro and many more. The "show" lasts about half an hour, then it starts from the beginning again. It's quite something to be there while it goes on, you sort of get overflowed with the "all at once" experience. I find it a bit overwhelming and only watched it through once. I bought the extensive book about the exhibition to learn a little about the period in my own time. While the show goes on theres no time for learning -only experience.

I found it much more interesting in the castles courtyard where the children can learn about what it was like during the time of the castle, go on treasure hunts with the Jesters, fighting the "Black night", solving puzzles and meeting the kings daughters. All the staff is dressed in clothes from the time (15-1600ds) and the kids, and their parents are having a great time.

In Kalmar city, the Swedish masterships in "Boule" or "Pétanque" is going on in more than a hundred tracks all over town (main). Finals on Sunday.

I felt like being a tourist in my own city and celebrated with an ice cream and a coffee "Cortado" at the local home-made-ice-cream-place before doing my errands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.