Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Rainy day pursuits

Actually it wasn't raining at first. It didn't rain for several hours this morning. I went shopping early (Morrison's is much quieter early in poorer weather, I've noticed), I even hung out some washing that even almost dried. But then the rain started, just as we sat down to lunch, and that was it. It's almost midnight and I don't think it's stopped.

For a while I thought of going out, regardless. But I left it late enough for the water falling to become really noticeable, and somehow the thought of soaking trousers (or, worse, dripping waterproof ones) didn't appeal in my enfeebled state, and I occupied myself in other things. Like working on a poem about bin men ...

However, this morning I had had a brief conversation with someone who asked what I'd thought of the music at the service in St Giles yesterday. Yesterday my eyes were bothering me too much to sit and watch telly in the afternoon, so I'd not paid much heed to the presentation to the King of the Honours of Scotland. But this afternoon, before I started scribbling, I'd been catching up on the inner pages of Sunday's Observer, and thinking about the political sludge being stirred in the press and the ability of our political leaders to disappoint and the unpleasant nature of much of public discourse these days and I thought ...

I thought I'd download the service from Catch Up and take a look. My collage in a way represents some of the things I thought important. Not the least of these was the fact that Charles III loves music and has already proved to be the patron, the stimulus of several new compositions, many by young composers. His presence has showcased performances of different musical groups, and yesterday was Scotland's turn. The new ceremonial sword apparently cost a lot of money - but its creation gave work to a creative artist, working now. These things matter in a civilised society. 

Other things I approved of? The sermon by the new Moderator of the Kirk was just great - I really like her, now that I've heard her speak. I loved the way Humza Yousaf read a lesson as if it was new-minted and exciting. The accordion solo before the service was exciting, moving and lovely. Nicola Benedetti played her socks off. I approved of the blessings from all the faith communities in Scotland. And I loved seeing the two flags of Scotland - the royal standard and the saltire - carried in procession through the church. 

At the end of the service, the Moderator declared: "The worship is over. Let the service begin!" - and that, really, summed it up. That corralled crowd outside (many of whom had, apparently, travelled from England) shouting "Not my King" throughout the proceedings - what or whom do they actually want to put as the figurehead of this divided nation right now?  What is their understanding of the role of a constitutional monarch? 

I mustn't go on. I've never been an ardent royalist: I love music, I love beautiful buildings, I love language, I love tradition and history. I don't care for sloppiness of thought and expression, and I don't believe in spoiling the moment for ordinary people who happen not to share my views. 

Sorry for a late night rant. Partly I was switched on by blipper Wildwood's thoughtful post about the flag ...

But didn't Edinburgh look fantastic?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.