Kentboy

By Kentboy

Scone

Today I feel very humble after reading your comments from all over the world  Here is my 1001 Blip and there will be more to follow.  I had decided to make use of the 'free day' as the roofers have nearly completed their job, but they have to wait until the cladding is completed.  Hopefully this will be next week.  I thought about travelling to Yorkshire, but decided to spend time around Keswick.  This was taken at Nichol End Marina on the side of Derwentwater.  Why?  To visit the cafe which became a regular stop when on our Wednesday cycling rides from Workington.  Nothing special about that, but the scones were and they are still made.  This monster was taken out of the freezer and defrosted for me.  It is the largest scone I've seen, brought to me along with my flat white. That can't be bad as there was a sign saying 'collection point.'  Coming out of the microwave it was warm so the butter spread easily.  I cut it into three horizonal pieces and enjoyed it-no cream just jam.
When we cycled these scones were eaten and the tea pot was an industrial size one for us.  The cafe used to be downstairs but it got flooded so a redesigned cafe higher up is now used.    I think you can tell I had a good chat with both young lads behind the counter.  My day was going well and continued to do so.  Drizzle fell but I stopped at Kettlewell National Trust carpark to photo Derwentwater from the other side, nearly missing camouflaged ducklings resting up on the shore.  They stayed perfectly still for me to photo them.
Thank you once again and have a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.