This is the day

By wrencottage

The Ode Less Travelled

It’s been a very satisfying kind of day, and I’ve done lots of clearing up jobs as part of my long-term project to get our house and all our affairs in as good an order as possible. This was facilitated by the dire weather forecast, which predicted several hours of possible thunderstorms, causing us to stay indoors just in case (unnecessarily, as it turned out).

Nothing I achieved today was particularly worthy of a photograph. However, in my view, this book definitely is! It’s one of my favourite reads; I love the title, and I love learning all the finer points of poetry from Stephen Fry, whose knowledge of the subject is pretty encyclopaedic. 

And now Smithers and I are going to sit down and enjoy more of Stephen Fry’s company, in the form of his TV series "Kingdom" on BritBox. What with the aerial shots of the glorious North Norfolk coastline and the surrounding countryside, not to mention Stephen Fry at his most avuncular and pleasant, it suits us down to the ground and we are gradually re-watching all the episodes in the series.

We may be less travelled than most, but we can still enjoy visiting beautiful places from the comfort of our sofa!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.