Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Extending Ki

In the morning, Evan and about 20 other children had their Aikido belt test, supported and guided by ten adults with black belts, checking the children’s ability to become one with the universe. To do that, they “extend Ki.” Ki is the universal energy in all life, and the idea is that if any harmful or “negative” energy approaches you, rather than oppose it, you redirect it, remaining balanced and calm. Aikido is a martial art, but even more, it’s a meditative art. Evan is now proudly entitled to wear an orange belt (two extras). 

After lunch with the family, I went to visit Margie. Wonderfully, surprisingly, her cognition has greatly improved. She says she’s not in pain, and her strong spirit and sense of humor are fully intact. I took her for a walk through the neighborhood in a wheelchair, and she talked to me about how she’s feeling while I pushed her along by day lilies, hydrangea blossoms, and roses. “When they send me home from here, my sons are going to come, each one for a little while, so Lucy can get some rest and return to work. I’ve had so much time with Lucy since this all happened, it has been a great gift. I’ll have each of the boys to myself for a few days before long, and I am really looking forward to that. After that, maybe I’ll be free to go.” I saw that Margie was extending Ki.

Then I got the MAX train back into Portland, and as I got off to transfer to the streetcar home, I heard the sounds of a huge crowd. I wondered if there was some kind of protest happening, so I walked toward the sound, and I began to hear the chant: “Sieg heil! Sieg heil!” I felt a chill in my bones, but I kept walking toward the sound.

I arrived at the rally site just as the march arrived from the opposite direction. It was ostensibly a “Christian” event, with many banners proclaiming “Jesus is King” and “Jesus Loves You.” But many in the crowd were wearing Trump T-shirts and MAGA hats, and the announcer on the stage repeatedly gave out a number and said, “Text the word PORTLAND to this number, and you will be connected with our powerful movement to protect our values. Christians are under attack. We’re going to fight back!” More chanting of Sieg heil. Many hands raised in salute. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.