soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

From the top of the hill

We walked up a nice gradual path right to the top, where there are neolithic burial mounds, and you can see the sea to the north and south. Down below in the valley is the farm campsite where my son and I had a holiday when he was five, and the friend I am currently with has camped for about 30 years. Today there was a wedding - you can see a huge white marquee - I think farms have to diversify in all sorts of ways. This is National Trust land up here, and it seems they are managing to really make it prosper.  We heard and saw so many birds - kestrels, buzzards, swallows, swifts, stonechats, but mainly skylarks all over the place. They have belted Galloway cattle grazing up there, which is apparently supposed to help wild flowers grow - I don’t know how. But there were certainly masses of different things growing, and really colourful. Familiar ones like vipers bugloss, wild carrot, and tiny campanulas. Some new ones to me which seek told me, including creeping cinquefoil, yellow wort, and agrimony. It’s a good time to come for anyone thinking of it. 
Later when we had walked back down to the farmyard again, we met this splendid turkey, trying all his many attractions to impress Ms Turkey - who seemed a little indifferent, sadly. He was shaking his tail feathers, and turning round and round so every bit of him could be admired. 
(I apologise that I haven’t been able to visit other peoples journals these last few days; it seems every minute is taken up while here. I will be able to catch up when I get home on Monday)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.