Majoayee

By Majoayee

Oobleck!

My first meeting with this Oobleck! 
https://www.steampoweredfamily.com/how-to-make-oobleck-with-arrowroot-flour/#What_is_Oobleck

We made it with arrowroot and water plus red colouring of course.  Eldest and I had a fun morning!  

Oobleck is a non Newtonian fluid.  Under pressure, from fingers in our case, it becomes solid.  Release the pressure and it becomes a liquid again! You can see it streaming down from her fingers (thumbnail)

Leave it to dry completely and sweep up with dustpan and brush.  Don’t put a load of the goo down the sink!  Dry, it comes  off clothes with a brush, but an apron would be a good idea! While kids may want loads of the stuff , 2 to 3 tablespoons is enough to get the idea! 

I gather it’s possible to make Oobleck from cornflower etc.  

The web site above has lots of experiments .  I’m sure we’ll try others! 

It’s a beautiful day! How am I going to get Ro to go for a walk with me? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.