Life Savors

By osuzanna

Hummingbird Breakfast

With the day predicted to be very hot, I headed over to the botanical gardens early.  My intention was to shoot some flowers and insects, and get some exercise.  I had seen some photos on Facebook of a hummingbird nest, but knowing the size of the gardens and the tiny ping-pong-ball size of the nest, I felt the odds of me finding it were slim to none.

As I was making my way around the gardens, I came to the area with about 15 photographers with big lenses all aimed at the same tree.  Without looking, I had found it!  I tried to resist, but finally went back to the car for my big lens and a monopod.  I had not taken my tripod, because this was not what I intended to do which was a mistake.  

Finding the nest was so very difficult.  As you can see it is covered in lichen and it is very tiny.  I located it three times and then lost it, but finally I got it and then waited for Momma to come back in.  I had two opportunities to capture the feeding, and then the heat finally broke me and I headed home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.