LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Where are the Blue Skies Now?

It’s not always wall to wall blue skies in Orkney. Today it was very cloudy but the wind was warm. I was invited to join a rambling group who were going  to ramble this morning  around the environs of Stromness but I declined on the basis of not having brought walking boots with me.  Imagine my surprise then, when on my own road walk , I met them and walked with them for a short distance before they left to cut across a rough path on Brinkie’s Brae.

I joined up with the Selkies in the afternoon to swim in a very choppy sea. These women are such strong swimmers in the sea that I have no chance of keeping up with them and certainly not for the  distance they are happy to go  from the slip. Nevertheless, I am prepared to swim to the first or second buoy  before practising my handstands in the shallower water- that is until someone spied a jelly fish which had the same reaction from the ladies had it been a killer whale. In fact one of the ladies had been stung, not by it but by another one that had obviously been hiding in the seaweed further out. Cue, someone producing a tube of antihistamine cream from their pocket as if everyone goes about with a pocketful of antihistamine.

And so back home to watch the Tour. I am so disappointed that Cavendish is out of his last Tour with a broken collar bone, although apparently there is a chance that his team will offer him a place next year to finish on a better note.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.