StephenF

By StephenF

Soothing the nerves

Or smoothing the creases. I resorted to ironing whilst listening to Test Match Special. I always find ironing relaxing and quite therapeutic, and so it proved as the Third Test reached a  knife-edge when Harry Brook was out for 75. Happily Mark Wood and Chris Woakes saw England through to a victory by 3 wickets to keep the series alive. I'd love to be at the Oval for the fifth and final Test,  especially if the series is all square by then and it's the decider.  I was there the last time the Aussies were in England as a friend was a member of Surrey Cricket Club and got tickets. Sadly he is not well enough these days to keep up his membership. The match is, of course, a sell-out and I dread to think how much the touts will be asking for tickets,  so I guess I shall be getting out the ironing board again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.