Swallowtail

We’ve seen swallowtails in the Alps before but only high up on the mountains. This year they’re down in the town; one landed on my back yesterday and today I snapped one on the flowers of a hanging basket! We were watching the Étape de Tour at the time, but pics of unknown to me cyclists are easily trumped by butterflies!

It was scorchio. I cannot comprehend how people can cycle in such heat. 16000 people! But they did. Hats off to their incredible level of fitness. We watched the first few arrivals then returned to the apartment to cool down and eat. Later we cooled down properly paddling our feet in the river. Reggie absolutely loved the icy water and played with some other dogs for quite a while.

Walked too far priobably, not helped by the fact that the lift from valley floor to town was broken. Rest day tomorrow.

Watched A Man Named Otto this evening - a proper feel good film and the best I’ve seen in a long time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.