Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Gardening

Our daughter's and SIL's garden offers me opportunities to play around and also polish my halo. They just haven't the time to indulge in pottering and prettifying (I still hope they'll develop the urge one day) so I get the chance to fiddle around with plants I can only dream of cultivating back home. 

We had a trawl with S around a large garden centre for appropriate plants, dodging the increasingly heavy rain. This escalated into a full blown downpour but I managed to get the area back at the house planted up in time (just) to be taken out for an early birthday meal in the evening. 

We also erected a temporary wire fence across the width of the garden to prevent Berry's mild terrorist tactics towards their cats. S is, quite understandably, anxious about her beloveds being eyeballed through the glass doors by an intent Springer.  She is also very anxious about her father's tendency to open said door wide with the dog at his heels, as Chris isn't great at forward thinking! So, after a bit of an Exchange of Views after a potentially near miss incident I thought the barricade solution should keep all parties happy. So far it seems to have really helped.

However, I have discovered that it's more of an obstacle after a couple of cocktails and a glass of wine or two ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.