Extra Ordinary

By PhilippaJ

For Clare’s entertainment

Turns out WHSmith at Victoria is not the place to buy the books you are looking for. But I did gasp (really!) in delight at seeing the history book section. But I couldn’t decide what part of history I want to read in the space of the 7 minutes I had available to me to choose. Left empty handed to continue with my library book.

Before that I quizzed several people on the tube:
1. The lady to my right- was she ok in her massive jumper, was she a bit hot? I was hot enough without a jumper on. She smiled but brushed me off.

2. The lady to my left as I tried to work out what book she was reading. She did show me, can’t remember now. She was struggling with it.

3. The man in front of the lady to the left - this was me and and lady to the left. He was on about page 3 of a handsmaids tale. Apparently the third time he has got to this page.

After all these chats I got on completely the wrong train- I thought a train to Portsmouth and Bognor would def be going to Worthing. Oh no, v wrong. Worked it out about a minute before the train left.

Before all this a long and uneventful trip to Manchester and back. No chatting about books on those trains…..

And extra - the woman in Manchester train station singing her heart out on the piano. Smashing she was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.