Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

The day before

Blood test: Check.
Pacemaker check: Check.
GP visit: Check.

The phlebotomy procedure was a bit strange because it's pre-op. The request form was waiting for me at the main hospital reception, but when I handed it over at phlebotomy they sent me across to in-patient registration to 'get a proper label'. That led to a wrist band which was wrist-tied, scanned and then removed. The blood-taker agreed that it was all a bit strange but assured me it's standard procedure. I'll get another wrist band tomorrow when I register for the angioplasty procedure.

Bloods had been arranged to coincide with the appointment for my regular pacemaker check, which was done by a very chatty nurse who was happy with the result but went into far great detail than usual.

Back home, then out again later to see my GP. They still hadn't got the scan report from A&E but will chase it up and get in touch for a follow-up when the angioplasty is out of the way. I asked for a private referral to a neurologist and was very surprised to learn that waiting time is no different for private than for public referrals and could be as long as three months! On a more positive note, today's doctor felt that the symptoms suggested a severe migraine attack, which, if the scan result supports it, will be treatable with daily medication. I came back home in much better form.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.