HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

Hemerocallis fulva

Lily

I've now counted and firstly identified 45 different flowers. Wild and planted. Still some left to open the flowers and surprise me.

As Biden is coming to Helsinki on Thursday and there's some expected traffic jams due to that, we advanced our furniture pick up day to Wednesday. We have a van rented and we'll pick it up at 8 am. Niklas will be at my parent's for morning tee (after his night shift) so he'll be able to help with the carrying.

We are picking up a sofa, a big oval table and 6 chairs and 2 little side tables. All made around 1890 in St. Petersburg. The style is called Biedermeier. My mum inherited the right to purchase this set from her godparents early 1980's. I remember that they cost a lot. Now days apparently people in my age are trying to get rid of the sets. In our president's  castle there is a set, on which they always interview people during the Independence day ball. And I remember my mum always saying that her set is much more prettier (which it is). My childhood memory that one.

So I'm now taking the set (don't have to pay for it :-D ) and desperately trying to make space for the items. I have space for the sofa and some of the chairs and the small tables, but the oval big table will be harder to place. As most of our furniture is more IKEA style, the Biedermeiers might look funny at first. We'll see tomorrow. But I have to give value to furniture that has been made 130 years ago and are still usable. (And you can imagine how much they weigh. )

After we get the furniture here, we'll load the van with stuff to take to recycling center and will drive there, unload, then return the rental van and drive home. It's gonna be a busy day for us. And if you know me, you know I can't rest until everything is placed.

I hope I have some time for cycling tomorrow evening because the day will be spent mostly sitting in a car.

Today I've been doing pre-work for tomorrow and some gardening. Also had a breast cancer screening in Lahti. So we had to drive there. We get those every two years. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.