Gaia's Child

By maura143

Mississippi Kite

Here in North Central Florida we are at the very edge of the Mississippi Kite's southern range. They are a migratory species; spending winters in South America, mostly in Brazil and Argentina and then in the spring traveling north to the central and southern U.S. where they breed. 'Sizable' breeding populations are found in the southern Great Plains and in regions around the Mississippi River. I'd call the MK an 'opportunistic' diner. Catching large flying insects on the wing is its speciality. I've seen them catch a large bug and eat it while flying high in the air, holding the prey with one foot while devouring it. Anything smaller than themselves is fair game. They also reportedly dine at road kills. Although I can't personally attest to that. Whenever I see one up close, the name 'Batman' alway comes to my mind. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.