Keith B

By keibr

Flower ID

As we sat outside eating our usual late breakfast I was trying to identify a plant using Apples Photos app. The app wasn't doing very well, but then I was having trouble getting a clear view/photo of the plant, which was in a tangle of vegetation.
Eventually it suggested something that grows mainly in Mexico, hardly likely, but it's second choice turned out to be much more believable..
I decided to try it out on a plant I could easily photograph and could already identify, at least in Swedish (Krollilja). No problem for the app which told me it was Lilium martagon, the martagon lily or Turk's cap lily. So now I know the name in Swedish, English and Latin!
These lillies grow wild in our garden, and though now we have rearranged them a little we have never planted any. Through doing a little research for this blip I now know all true lillies (Lilium....) are highly toxic for cats, which was a surprise to me. Fortunately we don't have cats, and I'm afraid the free-roaming village cats will have to take their chances.
What about the plant that started me off on this quest. You can see one of the worst flower pictures ever in my extra and Apple's Photos app suggested it was broad-leaved willowherb. The description does fit it very well so I'll run with that ID for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.