Ingleman

By Ingleman

Halford Reflections

Mrs I was at her parents today. They are elderly and becoming increasingly  senile. No other word for it. Probably not appropriate to discuss it here but each time she comes home after visiting, there are tense telephone conversations with her two sisters, both of whom share the duties of care and provision. My wife's responsibilities involve cooking and serving a meal, checking and preparing medications and organising medical prescriptions.

There are always problems due to hearing deficiencies, chronic mobility impairment, sight impairment and severe loss of mental acuity.
 
There are often 'accidents' of a 'toilet' nature.  We have had to replace carpets, bedding and clothing. Soiled toilet paper is often found in the bathroom sink. A single bowl of cold water is used in the kitchen for personal ablutions as well as washing up dishes...

I could go on. But I won't.

Needless to say I have voiced my concerns for the health and wellbeing of the old folk. And the mental wellbeing of the sisters. They do their best. But it is very challenging.

Two paid carers are alo in attendance but my voiced opinion is that the parents should now be in a proper place where their daily needs are attended to and they receive the correct level of care for their situation.

Watch this space.

As I was saying...I took Hollie dog to Halford today where we both got drenched in a tropical storm and then we dried out as the sun shone. Hollie then got wet again by swimming in the river which is her favourite pastime. 

The main image and extra are shots from the riverbank.  It was two hours of uncomplicated bliss.

For both of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.