The Way I See Things

By JDO

Relief

Photographing small, mobile subjects in poor light and strong, gusty wind really is a fool's errand: I took around three hundred photos today, and I've kept nine of them. By early afternoon I hadn't produced a single image I actually liked, and I was starting to think I'd be posting whichever seemed to be the "least worst" when I sat down at my computer this evening.

Luckily, at around 4pm the sun came out, propelling me back out of the house, and the shots I took before it disappeared again and the gloom descended once more included eight of the day's nine keepers. I'm especially pleased with this one because the Small Skipper is pretty fresh, whereas most of the ones in Tilly's field are now quite ragged, and I managed to capture it against a well-diffused background, which is hard to achieve because this year the black horehound is growing in a narrow gap between a stone wall and a fence.

That'll do, Pig. That'll do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.