TheWayfaringTree

By FergInCasentino

Portulaca oleracea (common purslane)

I battle this rather attractive succulent ‘weed’ each summer. It pulls up readily but spreads super fast. Has many different names in Italian - in Tuscany it is perchiazza or sportellecchia. I hadn’t realised it was common purslane and young leaves and stems can be eaten. Popular in Greek salads and saw there is an Alentejo soup made from it - sopa di beldroegas. Also said to protect against the malocchio or evil eye when worn as amulet. I tried some and found it pleasant. It looks like it should be thirst-quenching. Another day of torrid wall-to-wall sun up to 36.5.

I managed to get some weeding of the many beans done and more ‘grass’ cutting done (7,500 steps). The drip irrigation system is working well.

Had sun warmed mini St Marzano tomatoes and our home grown olive on bread for lunch. Absolutely delicious.

I dunked myself in the pool at regular intervals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.