LesTension

By LesTension

'MO CHICKS PIX

There was a BIG wind last night.  When I arose this morning, I found the robin's nest on the ground and two chicks curled up in the grass and mom appearing with some breakfast and feeding them on the ground.  They are way too small to be leaving the nest...so I put the nest back in the flower pot and then placed the chicks back in the nest.  There was no sign of the 3rd chick. Mom was chirping and chirping while I handled the chicks...but she calmed down after I went back inside and within a few minutes she was back on the nest as though nothing was wrong.  Remarkably tolerant and adaptive bird.
~
Later in the day an old friend dropped by and we sat and talked on the patio.  I saw one of the chicks fall out of the nest again.  It's getting crowded in there and as he moved to the edge of the flower pot there wasn't enough stem mass to support it so he fell out.  I picked it back up and placed it in the nest once again.  
~
After the company left, I went back inside and continued to edit race photos and a few hours later I went upstairs and noticed that only one chick was in the nest.  I looked everywhere for the other one but couldn't find it.  I'm beginning to think one chick pushed the other out of the nest to have more room and more food....that's the way Mother Nature works, you know.
~
I'm not ruling out the possibility that the other chicks are still somewhere hiding among my garden plants. The parents spend time there and might be feeding them on the ground.  Time will tell.
~
Best in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.