Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

CELEBRATING A WELL-LIVED LIFE

Today was the day we celebrated the life of David Threlfall, also known on Blip as Mr. T., who will be sadly missed but who brightened our lives with his wonderful smile and infectious laugh.  

We have had a wonderful day;  Mr. HCB and I stayed with Amanda overnight and the day started with lots of laughter and although it was a sad day for  her in some ways, we celebrated the well-lived life of her lovely husband, David again with lots of laughter and also lots of chocolate.  I had bought a box of Lindt chocolates enough for everyone to have one on the way out to remember David.  

He called me Madame Chocolat, because I pinched his chocolates whenever I visited and if I had a pound for everyone who called me that after the service, I would be a rich lady.

The celebrant, Kat, was amazing as was Del, the Funeral Director - and everything was done with such respect and dignity.  Amanda's eulogy was wonderful and brought a tear to many eyes as did other tributes from various friends and those who had been involved in Mr. T's life, including Dave The Book, who read to him every week. 

You will see in the top right of the collage I had taken three of the Silly Saturday Gang, JH Ted, Winnie the Pooh and Kevin the Koala, the last two given to me by Mr. & Mrs. T.  You can see them with the wonderful photographs of Mr. T above Amanda on the shelf, which were also taken to show on the Memory Table.

I liked the footprint and it reminded me that Mr. T had left a footprint on all of our lives.  The lily was on the pond in the Woodland Memorial Garden and the Funeral Director, Del, was bringing out some lilies that Amanda had picked from her lovely garden this morning.

At the bottom left is a smiling Amanda, just before we left, having opened a gift from a friend, with their initials on it - such a lovely and thoughtful gift.

At the bottom right is a shot of Gemma and Andrew, two very special friends, and those who read Amanda's Blips will have heard of Andrew - a tradesman extraordinaire - I just wish he lived nearer to us!  The green on the outside of the collage is for Mr. T too, as it was his favourite colour.  

All in all a great day and I don’t apologise for the length of this, but want to finish with the tribute and  poem I read during the service.  

For David - the most gentle of gentlemen, lover of Lindt chocolates, amusing raconteur, Blipper, the man with the cheeky smile who liked bacon sandwiches and wouldn’t share them with anyone - but most of all, the best husband in the world to Amanda - the Superwoman who never stopped fighting for him, who never stopped loving him and who always thought of David before herself.  

Amanda - You and David have been an inspiration not only to us but to so many others - we love you and this is for you too! 

FOR THOSE LAID TO REST HERE by Fran Hall 

Under a soft blanket of fallen leaves,
     safe in the hush of the whispering trees
          I have come home.

My time here on earth is now done,
     all the noise and the clamour, 
          the joy and the pain,
the powerful life force that drove me onwards
     has slipped away into the quiet of eternity,
          and I am at peace.

From now on, I will dance through your memories
     threading thoughts of love through your heart.

The pain of loss will gradually ease, 
     and the sadness will lift.
          the days will be lighter, 
               and the nights not so long,
for I am still here.

When you walk through this place, 
     you will feel me
          in the gentle touch of the breeze on your face,
               in the sunlight dappling the forest floor,
                    in the murmur of the branches high above you,
I am all around.

I have returned to the place from whence I came,
     to the elements that created me.

The earth that gave me the life I so loved
     has now welcomed me back to her,
          to be at one with all her beauty.

Here, under my blanket of fallen leaves
     I have found my resting place.
          I have come home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.