WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Butterfly hunt

Three years ago, I knew I'd have to come back to visit this field in the Dales. It was full of large butterflies and one I'd never seen before, a dark green fritillary.  I wasn't sure what the field would be like but it made a good there and back potter for Little Dog anyway so we pottered off to take a look. 

It was a bit too windy, I think, and I didn't see anything at first although there were plenty of wildflowers.  When the first meadow brown fluttered across the path, I was a bit more hopeful but it wasn't until we were half way back that this one landed next to the path in front of us. It wasn't there for long and as soon as it took to the air, it got blown too far away for Little Dog to keep up with the chase.  We kept on going and found one more to admire and collected a few yellow rattle seeds along the way before heading home.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.