suehutton

By suehutton

Unripe Hazelnuts

Hazel bushes border the Stonebow Washlands. This year, they have a rich harvest of nuts which are not yet ripe. Len had handed me this bunch. I thought they would make a nice still life.

This morning, I went to the dentist in Coalville for a checkup. My appointment in November, just after I'd come out of hospital following the first hip revision, was cancelled, and I hadn't got round to making a new one. I wish I had after leaving hospital in February. The plaque round my existing teeth is dreadful and I have bad gum disease. It's back to the interdental tooth sticks now.

I have to return in two weeks for a deep clean which will involve anaesthetising my gums. Ouch.

On the way home, we stopped at The Rock, a café/bar in Broom Leys. Very friendly staff and we enjoyed our egg and bacon breakfasts.

Arriving home, I looked in a bag that has been sitting on a dining chair since the end of last year. It contained the 'missing' copy of English Church Music for which the whole choir has been searching since the last concert. I emailed the chairman immediately.

Drifted off into the Land of Nod in the afternoon for over an hour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.