I am camera

By Martinski

Loving the Maverick

I have a soft spot for the footballing maverick, players with great talent who apparently squandered it all.  Many, though not all of them are Scottish. I never saw Willie Hamilton (pictured left with Pat Quinn) play. By the time I started supporting Hibernian, he was off back down south to Aston Villa. (He had previously played for Sheffield United.) During his time with Hibs he was managed by Jock Stein who seemed to get the best out of him. Perhaps Hamilton’s finest game in a Hibs shirt was in the humbling of Real Madrid in 1964. Stein said of Willie: "Think of someone just as good as Kenny Dalgiish. That was Willie Hamilton.”  He had a great football brain, and played as if he wearing silk slippers on his feet. But few football fans, even in Scotland  have heard of him.
    I checked out Hamilton’s Wikipedia entry, and while it is factually correct it is so brief as to be rather pitiful. So I wondered of I could write something better. It is the least he deserves.
    Link Willie scoring against Hearts  which seems to come for a documentary on Jock Stein.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3Z0Qa7sjDg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.