TJ-200

Haven't really written anything here lately, but today is the day I've got 200 days of service remaining. I think the time has flown quite fast during the days in the greens, like the first day was just yesterday, though it was almost five months ago.

However, answering the question of "Why did you join the Army?" is still rather difficult to fulfill like it was before I left to the service; mostly because my answer won't satisfy all the askers. At any rate, serving my country never made me a bellicose or a douchebag militarist, as it may look to some. I just find it important to be a part of something that does important work here and abroad, that benefits my homeland and so on. Even though never been an actual patriot, it's been a question of duty and honour this far.

Anyhow, they teach every single jack the basic infantryman's skills here. That means I too know how to shoot an assault rifle, how to throw a grenade and what's the use of mines on a battlefield. Stereotypically, this kind of action is mentioned to as some shitty militarist crap that turns boys (and girls) into killers, but I haven't seen any jack turn into a killing machine yet - and bet I won't see. In fact, these things are taught in case of a possible future conflict or crisis we of course wish could never come into existence.

So, you may have been thinking how the hell I still manage to get a photo for every day? Well, the answer is I can still take photos on my spare time, mostly with my mobile phone or old pocket camera; I just have to make sure there ain't anything confidential in the picture, so that's why many of my late posts may be likely bland or just boring. Being a part of the signals is also making it easier to have the time to deal with technology, so it's just "natural" that we mechanics and technicians are carrying phones and other stuff everywhere here. At any rate, I'm still prefering uploading my photos on my computer, as you may have noticed.

I am also very sorry I haven't really had the time to comment back on everybody's journal recently. We are given vacation weekends quite regularly, but now that my time is more "limited", I've rather used to spend it on something else than sitting on the computer and browsing the Internet - hopefully this makes sense to you.

This is all for now, though I'll travel back to the Regiment just tomorrow night. It's two weeks of NCO School left, and then - if all goes as expected - all the students will be promoted to corporals on June 17th.

Bye for now and take care all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.