Sprout lover

By robharris35

Amerton

A day out with three generations of women: mother, sister and niece. The destination was Amerton Farm near Stoke which is a motley assortment of farm animals, climbing frames and various strategies to engage children. The rabbits and the sandpit were a hit with Georgia, the slide and sheep provided fleeting entertainment, and the calves and go-karts were surprisingly glossed over (although the sister and I enjoyed the latter). The trough for washing hands provided the greatest fascination of all, which I doubt is the farm’s intention. There was some tasty pub fare which I haven’t sampled in a good while. And Stoke is notably cheaper than Cambridge, and less pretentious.

When it was time to leave, Georgia plonked down on the car park and I suspected a tantrum was brewing. I discovered a successful strategy of hurling her up into the sky as far as my arms would reach. Distraction through adrenaline. It worked, but I am sure I will need a wilier strategy soon, the rate these kids get wise to adults’ tricks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.