Keith B

By keibr

High Coast Skyscape

WE spent a good night in our spot between the (very quiet) road and the sea. In the morning we discovered a couple more places right down by the water for future nights out.
We meandered homeward in 'Arry the campervan, taking our time as part of our wedding anniversary celebration. 
We stopped at Mortsal boat club and harbour, and ate a little lunch as we looked at the bridge from this new vantage point.
I'd been watching the clouds since we woke up. At 9 o'clock they were a few tiny cumulus clouds in a mostly blue sky. Now, at nearly 2 o'clock they had steadily grown  to these rather impressive substantial clouds with their dark grey bases. Over the land they were covering more and more of the sky, while over the sea blue sky ruled.
The clouds continued to develop and we were not hugely surprised when an hour later we saw lightening strike down from an even bigger cloud, and the sky opened and we drove the last bit home in a torrential downpour.
The extra shows a couple of Arctic terns above my head. They were part of a group that felt I was intruding on their territory as I walked to the end of the rough stone pier, to get this picture. As they started to scream and swoop a bit above my head I checked very carefully for nests and chicks on the ground. There were none (they should have finished breeding a good while back) so I carried on to the end of the pier and took the opportunity to catch these magnificent birds on the wing. Since they were merely voicing displeasure, and not actually defended their chicks I gambled they wouldn't actually hit me, shit on me or puke up fish on me. Fortunately I was right.
I just read on Wikipedia that the artic terns travel between 70,000 and 80,000 km every year as they migrate between the Arctic, where they breed, and the Antarctic, where they just eat and live the good life for the summer there! They live about 30 years, so travel around 2.4 million kms in a lifetime. This means they travel further, and also experience more daylight, than than any other species!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.