madwill's world

By madwill

Another Small Subject

Over the last few weeks I seem to have blipped a lot of small subjects …insects and flowers…so my journal is in danger of becoming ‘A Small World’…

I was out for a walk shortly after 8 a.m. and I spotted this fabulous snail on some rocks at the side of the road. It was the coloured shell that attracted me, but when I started shooting it began to move and this large hole kept appearing in its side. I have never seen this on snails before - and subsequent ‘Googling’ leads me to believe it is a breathing hole or pneumostome! Every day is a learning day …

The weather was a bit hit and miss - I got rained on a few times and blown about by some very strong winds….

Rain has continued for much of the day - although at the moment there is bright sunshine and a clear blue sky. On the plus side, our water butts are almost full again after I had to drain them last week. More rain is forecast for the next couple of weeks…so ironically we may not need the stored water for the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.