Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Farewell

(15/7/23)

We made a late decision to attend a service in a new church this morning. My sister's sister-in-law is leaving Dubai for good, and asked if G & I could be there for their last service. It turned out to be a real eye-opener.

They meet in a warehouse on an industrial estate. I thought maybe they just rent the space on a Sunday morning (like the Baptist church we went to rented space in a hotel), but no, when we walked in, it was clear that it was a permanent space!

The service was fine. G & I sat close to the front, opposite this drum kit, which meant it was loud during the worship time, which G enjoyed far more than I did. Pixie's husband (the couple who are leaving) gave the sermon. It was on the Prodigal Son. He filled in some questions I'd been pondering for ages, so we both learnt something new.

It was clear that Pixie and Harold and much loved by the congregation, so rather than take time away from them, I said we'd call in to see them again on Tuesday night. As we were already out and dressed, we headed to Wafi for a Sunday lunch! I must have been hungry as I haven't got a picture of it! We did think it's something that would be nice to do every week!

Home for the rest of the evening. I posted my 189th video! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.