JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Organic

I've not been in a very abstract frame of mind recently, but this week's "organic" theme was too appealing to miss, and brief sunny interval between the showers and storm clouds provided several possibilities within a couple of metres of the back door. I wasn't sure which to choose: the main photo is a detail of crocosmia leaves, with a pleasing little twist in them, and the extra is the lovely spotty leaves of the pulmonaria. Both these are thriving this year after the removal of the very overgrown shrubs which had largely swamped them. 

It was a good day: lots of demanding twists in my online yoga class left me feeling well stretched and happy, ready to be cheerfully busy. I tried to make the most of this while it lasted, picking and preparing spinach, four large lettuces, strawberries and saskatoons. The first batch of lettuces are just starting to bolt, so I'm bringing them in as fast as I can to wash, chop and bag for the freezer, ready to be used in P's trademark green soup. Later, J and I chose Gosford Park for our movie night. I'd never seen it, and the stellar cast was a delight. I think I enjoyed it more than she did: the large ensemble cast and their overt and hidden relationships were a bit convoluted for her to follow, and the barbed interactions perhaps a bit too subtle, though she enjoyed it as a sumptuously produced costume drama. I found it both fun and interesting, as well as brilliantly produced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.