randomgirl

By randomgirl

A stroll around Ravenglass

Our first full day here brought a lot of sunshine. Something which has very much disappeared since! 

I liked the look of this house along the road from our campsite. It looks so English to me, in a nice old-fashioned way. Now that I've lived in Scotland for so long I really notice the difference in architectural styles between the two countries.

In the extras you can see a view of the estuary shore and mudflats at low tide, the old signal box at the train station, and lastly a section of the ruined Roman Baths (from 1st Century  AD) that are all that really remains of the Roman fort and settlement that was built here - I  gather as a supply port for the soldiers at Hadrian's Wall. It's an interesting mixture of a place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.