June Challenge: Day 2 ...

Favorite book.

As an avid reader picking a favorite book was difficult at best.

One of my favorite books is one I read a few years ago at the suggestion of my Mother ~ another avid reader! The Widow of the South by Robert Hicks is a novel based on the true story of Carrie McGavock, owner (along with her husband, John) of Carnton.

Since the book takes place during the American Civil War my idea was to not just take a photo of the book, but also a grave of a Civil War soldier. And since I live in the Northeast, it was not easy finding a grave of a Confederate soldier. But I was determined!

After a quick Google search we located one (just one!). This is the grave of Elisha Ward Shields (1847-1890). Mr. Shields was born in Kernersville, North Carolina. At the age of 17 he was forced into the Confederate Army. After the war he moved to Nazareth, PA and taught at Nazareth Hall, a Moravian school. As a Moravian he was buried at God's Acre Cemetery upon his death in 1890. Thanks, Google!

We were in the pool for the first time this year ~ which incidentally is one of my favorite places to read!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.