Burradoo Journal

By Burradoo

What bird is that?

I spotted this bird on the mangrove swamps near the oyster beds. What is it? I thought at first that it was a heron, but herons are grey or blue and I think smaller. Was it a white ibis? No, they have black heads and beaks. Thanks to bird recognition software (thank you Keepingitsimple for that tip) I think it’s a great white egret. But I’m very willing to be corrected.
 
I also found this nice quote about egrets: As a symbol of grace, the egret is a reminder that gentleness and beauty exist in an otherwise very chaotic world. If an egret makes themselves known to you, it can be a sign to pause, take a deep breath, and to try to tap into a state of grace. It does exist – sometimes we just have to take the time to let it in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.