Meles

By meles

Home

As I trudged back from the allotment (extra!) I saw a tram approaching up Constitution St just passing the door of what was Homes Bar - our much missed local, which the proprietor sold up just ahead of the first time C. St was dug up for tramworks. This was in about 2007 I think, before I even started blipping - and Blip tells me I've been doing this for 5000 blips (with no gaps!). In fact I think that as I started blipping they were just opening up Constitution St and Leith Walk again after they first dug everything up in their first abortive attempt to route the trams as far as Newhaven.

As I passed the Chop House (as it's now styled) the door was open so I could keek in - aargh, although it's all been mightily tarted up the bar is still in the same position (second extra). Felt huge waves of nostalgia for the superb craic, the excellent beer, Pat and his lovely bar staff (one of whom, wee Julie, died from COVID at the start of '21). I remember it was a place I felt safe to go to for a beer as a lone female when D was in Kosovo, and made me feel completely at home in Leith.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.