antipodia

By antipodia

Steve versus the Toadstools

That's good old Steve on the mower who cuts the grass on my footpath and whippersnippers around the front in a 10th of the time it would take me with my ancient lawnmower and handshears.

The uncommonly warm wet weather has brought out mushrooms and toadstools all over the neighbourhood.

Thought these might have been gold tops but the white gills underneath say no to that after some research on the net. Not that I'm into voluntary hallucinating. It was interesting though to find more sites on how to identify hallucinatory mushrooms than actual sites for people that just want to eat them for nourishment or know what they are looking at.

Once upon a time I would happily pick mushrooms for the frying pan but these days, mainly with the takeover by the "yellow stainer" mushrooms, I prefer to buy them at the vegie shop. Too hard to tell what's safe and what's not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.