Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Photographer’s Assistant

My little fledgling robin has now developed from that cute speckled stage of various browns, and is now going through the frankly messy stage of developing his smart red breast. He’s an avian equivalent of the gawky, acned teenager still developing any real idea of style, but his character’s intact. 

It’s back to RSPB Conwy for a pre-Wimbledon-final stagger in the reserve. Yesterday, I didn’t come across my little robin at all, but today he spots me coming down the path and hops towards me. I’ve remembered the mealworms today, so there’s an added incentive to hang around, but he really does seem to enjoy company. I manoeuvre myself down to the floor, putting my camera bag down and sit to watch his antics - though two passing couples do stop to check that I’m OK and don’t require help! I’m obviously a pathetic sight! 

He tackles some mealworms, then decides to get closer, hopping up onto my camera bag but stopping short of feeding from my hard. It’s another delightful encounter, and it’s only when G comes looking for me that I struggle awkwardly to my feet and drag myself away. 

Earlier, as I’m hobbling around, I spot what is for me an unusual little butterfly. At first I almost dismiss it as yet another speckled wood - the only species that seems to frequent the reserve at the moment, but then I notice the white lines in its wings. Back home, I identify it as a White-letter Hairstreak, seemingly pretty rare here in North Wales - though I’d be very grateful if fellow blippers could tell me whether my identification is correct (in extras) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.